Sadness

I’m Facebook friends with a number of pupils I used to teach. It’s really nice to hear about what they’re up to- stuff I did at their age- drinking too much, going out too much, working too much, not studying enough, but scraping by.

But this week there was some terrible news.

The best way to remember is not by the bitter tears you have cried (and will cry), or the black empty void in your heart… But by living your life to the full, in memory of the one lost too soon, and the warm glow of good times past you are left with.

The words below always give me comfort. I hope they help.

Lots of love xox

Death is Nothing at all
Death is nothing at all 
I have only slipped away into the next room 
I am I and you are you 
Whatever we were to each other  That we are still 
Call me by my old familiar name Speak to me in the easy way you always used 
Put no difference into your tone  Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow 
Laugh as we always laughed 
At the little jokes we always enjoyed together 
Play, smile, think of me, pray for me 
Let my name be ever the household word that it always was 
Let it be spoken without effort  Without the ghost of a shadow in it 
Life means all that it ever meant  It is the same as it ever was 
There is absolute unbroken continuity 
What is death but a negligible accident? 
Why should I be out of mind  Because I am out of sight? 
I am waiting for you for an interval 
Somewhere very near 
Just around the corner 
All is well. 
Nothing is past; nothing is lost  One brief moment and all will be as it was before 
How we shall laugh at the trouble of parting when we meet again!

Canon Henry Scott-Holland

Leave a Reply

